I Refuse

by mattva13

I refuse to live in a country where poverty is a crime and rape natural phenomenon.

I refuse to live in a country where hate is a traditional value.

I refuse to live in a country where homosexuality is something parents fear and children hide.

I refuse to live in a country where science is rejected and replaced by scripture.

I refuse to live in a country where hunger is as common as Golden Arches on every other block.

I refuse to live in a country where white immigrants demonize and pine for the deportation brown immigrants.

I refuse to live in a country where a lifesaving procedure is a luxury reserved only to the few who can afford it or those willing to give their soul to survive.

I refuse to live in a country where the color of your skin determines the level of suspicion.

I refuse to live in a country where being a woman is a pre-existing condition.

I refuse to live in a country where being transgendered is a fireable offense but acceptance sexual harassment is almost a required job skill.

I refuse to live in a country where an education is a privilege to a few and not a right for all.

I refuse to live in a country where mass incarceration is for profit, not rehabilitation.

I refuse to live in a country where “Well, what was she wearing?” is ever asked.

I refuse to live in a country where coal-companies kill miners, communities, and environments, and they’re supposed to be thankful to have a job.

I refuse to live in a country that fosters a society that ties the noose of the gay kid from school hanging in his room.

I refuse to live in a country where young men of color are shot by law enforcement for being young men of color.

I refuse to live in a country that mocks climate scientists and elects their deniers.

I refuse to live in a country where purity is only for women and not our drinking water.

I refuse to live in a country where abandoned homes and homelessness peacefully coexist.

I refuse to live in a country where books are censored and bullies are not a subject for discussion.

I refuse to live in a country where bulletproof vests are needed for recess.

I refuse to live in a country where votes and cash are counted together.

I refuse to live in a country where it’s easier to buy a gun than it is to vote.

I refuse to live in a country where your job keeps you in poverty, not lift you out of it.

I refuse to live in a country where xenophobia is considered patriotism.

I refuse to live in a country where candidates are elected because of the pews they sit in and not the views the stand on.

I refuse to live in a country where elected officials run on a platform taking healthcare and access to food away from millions of those who desperately need it.

I refuse to live in a country where ignorance must be respected and social consciousness derided.

I refuse to live in a country where we only honor soldiers if they’re dead.

I refuse to live in a country where children fear the night’s hunger pangs more than the monster under their bed.

I refuse to live in a country where the paleness of a group of people allows them to control the vast majority of our police departments, government bodies, and businesses.

I refuse to live in a country where grandmothers and grandfathers must choose between medicine and food.

I refuse to live in a country where drug sentences are mandatory but that same government decides that providing basic needs like healthcare for it’s people is optional.

I refuse to live in a country where “the talk” for black families is about being “safe” around police officers and not STD prevention and procreation like it was for me.

I refuse to live in a country where lines for free healthcare clinics are longer than lines for the newest iPhone.

I refuse to live in a country where democracy is for those who can afford it.

I refuse to live in a country that elevates itself to demigod status but can’t provide anything from clean water to a fighting chance to her citizens.

I refuse to live in a country where “Making America Great Again” means manifesting the hate and resurrecting the Jim Crow’s so many fought and died to bury so we could all march forward, together, hand-in-hand.

I refuse to live in a country would entertain such a vile creature as Donald Trump to lead the nation and the world.

I refuse to live in a country that isn’t a country anymore. A country that is a melting-pot of ignorance, classism, and hate stirred by a flaming wooden-cross.

I refuse to live in that country.

This country.

My country.

….but I’m not going anywhere.

